Former Secretary to the Sokoto State Government, Alhaji Sa’idu Umar has emerged winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary election

Umar clinched the ticket after the withdrawal of four other aspirants and an affirmation vote conducted by 695 out of 755 delegates on Wednesday in Sokoto.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the aspirants, who withdrew from the race, included the State Deputy Governor, Alhaji Munir Dan’iya and Bello Goronyo, the PDP Chairman in the State.

Others are Alhaji Mukhtari Shagari, the former deputy governor of the State and former Commissioner for Environment, Alhaji Sagir Bafarawa.

The affirmation was supervised by INEC officials and the committee from the party’s National Headquarters.

Dr. Tom Zakari, who announced the outcome of the affirmation, declared that the winner scored 695 votes and the remaining were voided.

“I, therefore, declare Alhaji Sa’idu Umar as the winner and flag-bearer of the Sokoto PDP governorship position for the coming 2023 election,” he said.

2023: Sa’idu Umar clinches PDP governorship ticket in Sokoto