Tayo Alasoadura, the immediate past Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs, has failed in his effort to secure the All Progressives Congress, APC, ticket for the Ondo Central Senatorial District, in a bid to return to the senate.

At the primary conducted at the International Cultural and Event Center, the Dome, Akure, Ondo State capital, Alasoadura, who received 88 votes, was defeated by Adeniyi Adegbonmire, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN, who received 144 votes.

Wunmi Olatunji received two votes in the primary, Tola Awosika scored 44 votes, Adeniran Oyebade got zero votes, and Ilesola Akinpelumi polled 45 votes.

Dr Clara Njowku, the Chairman of the Electoral Panel, who revealed the results, said that out of the 325 registered delegates, 323 were accredited and voted.

She went on to say that the delegates in the primary were from the Ondo Central Senatorial District’s six local governments: Akure South, Akure North, Ondo East, Ondo West, and Idanre.

Meanwhile, Adegbonmire revealed that he was not given a chance when he entered the race, dedicating his victory to God and his constituents and promised not to disappoint them.

He vowed to reconcile with other candidates in order for them to back the APC in the upcoming election.

“I know the APC will be victorious and I will be the Senator. Myself and the PDP candidate match each other and we are going to have a good fight and a good election,” he said.

In Ondo North Senatorial District, a businessman Jide Ipinsagba polled 268 votes to defeat his closest rival Alex Ajipe who had 57 votes.

APC primaries: Former Minister, Alasoadura loses Senate bid