The Champions League seeds for next season have been confirmed following the Real Madrid vs Liverpool final on Saturday.

Ajax have been included among the eight seeded teams for the group stage draw.

Pot 1 contains the titleholders of the Champions League and the Europa League (Eintracht Frankfurt), plus the champions of Europe’s top six leagues — the Premier League, LaLiga, Serie A, the Bundesliga, Ligue 1 and the Primeira Liga.

However, because Real Madrid won the league and European Double, there is a vacant place among the seeds and it has been taken by Ajax.

Pot 2 will include Liverpool, Chelsea and Tottenham, plus Barcelona and Juventus.

Pots 2 through to 4 are ordered on UEFA coefficient, which measures results and performance in Europe over a five-year period.

Eintracht Frankfurt
Manchester City
Real Madrid
AC Milan
Bayern Munich
Paris Saint-Germain
FC Porto

Atletico Madrid
RB Leipzig
Tottenham Hotspur

Seven of the eight teams are confirmed for Pot 3, with Benfica the one club who must go through qualifying. If they fail to make the group stage, Rangers, Dinamo Zagreb and Marseille are among the teams who could take that place in the pot, otherwise they will be in Pot 4.

Borussia Dortmund’s coefficient score is only good enough for Pot 3, meaning they could face a very tough Champions League draw. Inter Milan and Napoli may also present a tough test for those in the higher-ranked pots.

Borussia Dortmund
FC Salzburg
Shakhtar Donetsk
Inter Milan
Benfica (if qualify)
Sporting CP
Bayer Leverkusen

Pot 4 will contain the rest of the teams who qualify for the group stage, though it is known for certain that Scottish champions Celtic and Belgian titleholders Club Brugge, who qualify automatically, will both be in this pot.

The draw takes place on Thursday, August 25. Each of the eight groups will have one team from each pot, and no more than one club from each country.

Champions League seeds confirmed for 2022/2023 after Real Madrid vs Liverpool