The former Executive Director of the Small and Medium Enterprises Development Agency SMEDAN, Dikko Radda, has emerged winner of the All Progressive Congress, APC, governorship primary in Katsina State.

Radda won the tight contest after he polled 506 votes to defeat the two leading aspirants in the race, Mustapha Inuwa, the former Secretary to the State Government and Abbas Umar Masanawa, the immediate past CEO of Nigerian Security Printing and Minting Plc.

Dr Inuwa, who came second in the keenly contested race, polled 442 votes while Masanawa secured 436 votes to occupy the third position.

Surprisingly too, the former managing director of the Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria, Ahmed Dangiwa, who was also touted as one of the major contenders in the race, came a distant 4th with 220 votes.

The results for other aspirants in the fiercely contested race are:
Faruk Jobe – 71 votes
Deputy Governor, Mannir Yakubu – 65 votes
Sadiq Yar’adu’a – 32 votes and Abdulkarim Dauda – 7 votes.

The Chairman of the electoral committee, Barrister Lawal Shehu Kaka announced the result after the voting exercise ended and result were collated in the early hours, Friday.

Recall that earlier on Friday, DAILY POST also reported that Senator Yakubu Lado won the Governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, after securing 740 votes to beat his main challenger, Salisu Yusuf Majigiri who secured 257 votes.

With this development, it is now clear that the 2023 battle for the Katsina Government House and who succeeds Governor Masari will be between Senator Yakubu Lado of the PDP and Dr Dikko Radda of the APC.

Former SMEDAN boss, Dikko wins Katsina APC governorship ticket