Hon. Kabiru Yusuf Isma’il, representing Madobi, Senator Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso’s Constituency, in the Kano State House of Assembly has defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) from New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP).

The defection came a few days ago when APC lost a sitting Senator, Malam Ibrahim Shakarau to the NNPP, who was received to the new party by its national leader, Senator Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso.

Malam Muhammad Garba, the state Commissioner for Education, had in a statement disclosed that the ruling party got a boost when Hon. Mu’azzam El-Yakubu, a member representing Dawakin Kudu local government in the state House of Assembly also dumped NNPP for the APC.

He explained that the era of defection has recently swept across the NNPP, particularly members in the state and National Assembly.

The Commissioner stated that already a member, Isa Ali, representing Bagwai/Shanono Constituency in the state House of Assembly joined APC from the NNPP.

The statement stated that there has been a series of decamping from one party to another in Kano State with the 2023 general elections drawing nearer.

DAILY POST recalls that 14 members of the state’s House of Assembly last month defected to NNPP from PDP and APC, saying that some are returning to the APC.

Member representing Kwankwaso’s constituency decamps to APC in Kano