Mr. Rasheed Elegbeleye, the Minority Leader of the Ondo State House of Assembly, has lost his campaign to return to the House after losing the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, primary to his major opponent, Akintola Olarenwaju.

During the primary election held in Ikare-Akoko, the headquarters of Akoko North East Local Government, Elegbeleye received 18 votes, falling short of his primary rival, who received 22 votes.

Favour Tomomewo, the only lawmaker representing Ilaje Constituency 2 in the Assembly, was also defeated in her bid for re-election.

Tomomewo, who switched from the All Progressives Congress to the PDP, received zero votes, while Adesoji Ayenuro, the winner of the primary election received 12.

However, Tomide Akinribido, the Assembly’s Deputy Minority Leader, won the ticket for Ondo West Constituency 1.

Akinribido received 12 votes to defeat Taye Olagundoye, who received seven votes.

Mr Olumuyiwa Adu, the PDP’s immediate past candidate in the Akure South/Akure North Federal Constituency, lost to Mrs Kemi Adesanya, a former member of the Ondo State House of Assembly.

Adu received 19 votes, while Adesanya received 38 votes at the primaries in Akure, the state capital.

Ojo Victor, the former Chairman of the Akoko South East Local Government, won the primary in Isua-Akoko with 12 votes.

PDP primary election: Ondo Minority Leader loses return bid